Misty

Was I as lucky as a four leaf clover?  No.  In fact, I’m probably struck with as much misfortune as a cat in a tree.  The funny thing is that it’s the cat’s fault.  Running up a tree isn’t something that’s usually done on a whim.  A certain degree of planning and circumstance lead you up a tree.

I happen to be that cat clawing his way up a tree escaping from an invisible fire.  Maybe that’s what cats see below them when they climb up a tree, a fire.  Perhaps they see fire on the ground and select special trees to escape from them.  A certain metaphysical tree that transcends logic and doesn’t burn down in a fire.  Why this thought popped up in my head I didn’t know.  The only thing that I was doing was waiting for a package to be delivered.  A simple package.  The contents, probably the camera I ordered over the weekend.  Regardless of what was being delivered it didn’t change what I was doing that day; I was sitting, waiting, and thinking about cats.

The sun kissed my cheeks as I sat on the patio of my backyard. With my book in hand and laptop at my side life didn’t seem too bad. As I sat there I had a sudden urge to listen to music. I opened my laptop to browse my music library. Somehow I gravitated towards Ella Fitzgerald’s song Misty. Why I picked that song I don’t know but by chance it worked itself into my random pondering about cats.

“Look at me, I’m as helpless as a kitten up a tree and I feel like I’m clinging to a cloud”

The soft notes of the piano and Ella’s warm voice cradled me into a state of calm. Before I knew it I was drifting hopelessly into sleep.

I dreamt of a dark meandering hallway. The way that it was laid out, the person who drafted the blueprints put no reason into this hallway. As I walked through I began to think about cats again. Why a tree? I thought, “Wouldn’t going back home be an easier option”. Well I guess if I were a cat I would climb up a tree. With the way life is going I empathized with the cat and would climb up a tree too. The more I walked through this dark hallway the more it illuminated and came to life. Before I knew it, I began to see snap shots of moments in time. Moments I didn’t want to think about, a self I didn’t want to see. Moments of failed relationships and the struggles of life began to litter the hallway and block my way. As I traversed this mental corridor I saw a tree.   I briskly made my way through and instinctively climbed it without thought. At the base laid a fire one cause by me. I had no urge to neither climb down nor stay. Stuck in a state of awkward confusion I just looked at the flames radiate below.

I did not feel any heat neither did the tree. Just as the cats searched for a metaphysical tree I found mine. Neither burning down nor feeling the heat of a metaphysical fire, I sat there in a state beyond existence and logic. With all this chaos going on, I can’t complain, the view is nicer from up here. Just a kitten in a tree clinging on a cloud.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Misty

Leave a Reply

